© 2009-2019      MotorTech Classic Car Network        Home Office: San Francisco Bay Area         Phone: 925.678.1944       info@motortechappraisals.com

REVIEWS - A Sampling

Mark F., Mendon, MA 2/25/19

5.0 Star Rating

 

Motor Tech ....and their  inspector Jerry did a excellent job on the inspection of my 1946 Chevy pickup. They had me worried when one of Motor Tech's managers called and said there were some problems with the truck I knew it was to good to be true, so asked him for the bad news he told me there was dirty floor mat an a little grease on the seat but other then that it was a beautiful truck in excellent condition, that was great news to here because I really wanted this truck could have not purchase this truck if it wasn't for these guy ....Thanks for the great job... Mark

 

Brian O., Boston, MA 2/5/19

5.0 Star Rating

Bought an '81 BMW with a bad motor from across the country.  The car couldn't make it to a shop for a pre-purchase inspection, so MotorTech went to the seller's house.  Communication was great and the final report was very detailed.  Car was exactly as described upon arrival.  Would have had to take the seller's word without the inspector.

 

Sarah S., Burlingame, CA 1/18/19

5.0 Star Rating

MotorTech performed two classic vehicle appraisals for a family member's estate valuation in 2018.  They were timely, thorough, and very professional.  Along with a physical inspection, they reviewed the service history and all documentation.  We received his detailed written appraisals promptly.  We were impressed with the amount of information listed in his report - appraisal, vehicle condition, and comps.  We have gladly referred MotorTech's service to our estate attorney and CPA for their clients.  Thank you for providing a needed and important service.

Mad L., Citrus Heights, CA 1/7/19

5.0 Star Rating

Great fast service. Highly recommended. MotorTech did a great job appraising my exotic vehicle.

 

Cisko P., Modesto, CA 12/5/18

5.0 Star Rating

Recently purchased a classic vehicle and requested a pre-purchase inspection from here. The inspector did a very in depth check on my vehicle and gave a very comprehensive report.  I was very satisfied  with the report and would highly recommend them to anyone who needs their services.  I would also use them again!

Jon G., Longwood, FL 10/30/18

5.0 Star Rating

I needed an official appraisal for my 1990 Nissan 300zx Twin Turbo. I wasn't sure where to go to get an appraisal so I searched online and found this company as a listed suggestion on classics.autotrader.com.  After I visited motortechappraisals.com , they reached out to me the next day and within a short time I had my vehicle physically inspected and an official appraisal emailed directly to me.  I was happy with the finished product.

Chris C., Falls Church, VA 8/23/18

5.0 Star Rating

I am e tremely pleased with the thorough service and report I received from Motor Tech.  I needed a very quick turnaround on a 1970 Olds 442 I was seriously considering.  What I got was outstanding !!  A tremendous value as well.  The comprehensive, thorough inspection and pictures were super.  They immediately took an interest in my story, and were keenly aware of my desires.  The order was placed promptly and a local inspector was on site doing a top to bottom review within 48 hours and I had the data within 24 hours of the inspection.  I was kept informed of progress throughout this short period and even after the work was delivered, they wanted to track my progress at arriving at my decision.  I couldn't have been more pleased.  Strongly recommend Motor Tech for any of the services they offer.  You won't be disappointed.

 

Paige B.,  Portola Valley, CA  8/20/18

5.0 Star Rating

Just got quick, efficient invaluable help from a representative at MotorTech Classic Vehicle Appraisal in SF.  I am grateful for his experience, perspective and advice on a reasonable purchase price of my vintage truck.  I wanted to return the favor of him giving me his time despite no obvious financial upside by writing this review.  They clearly running a responsible, business with kind, knowledgeable people!

 

D.B.,  Las Vegas, NV  4/20/18

5.0 Star Rating

and they 

Hello, called MotorTech and they  jumped on my request to inspect a Corvette in Tenn. and within a day assigned a reputable inspector and had a scheduled appointment. The big difference: they stayed on top of things and stayed in contact with me during the challenging logistics circumstances and followed up.  Highly recommend Motor Tech."

Jim U.  San Diego, CA  3/1/18

5.0 Star Rating

 

I recently had a  1937 Ford inspected by Motor Tech.  I couldn't be more pleased with the report, it is thorough and very comprehensive as are all the detail photos.  I feel our phone conversations and the report give me better overall knowledge of the car than had I been there myself.

Jonathan T.   Washington, DC  2/13/18

5.0 Star Rating

I can't say enough good things about MotorTech!  I reached out to them recently to do an inspection on a Trans Am I was looking at on eBay.  They contacted me within an hour to get more information and explain the process.  As this was my first classic car purchase, the staff was also very helpful in answering my many questions and offering advice.  They were proactive in updating me on the inspection and called me afterwards to give me the preliminary results over the phone, which was key to my decision to bid on the car.  Armed with the inspection results, I had a good sense of the value of the car and was able to bid smartly, backing out when the eBay bidding went (well) beyond what I believed was a reasonable price.  And I'm happy I did, because I ended up finding another, much better vehicle the next day for even less than Trans Am.   Again, even though I didn't end up getting the Trans Am, I'm really glad I did the inspection -- otherwise, I might have ended up paying too much for it and missed out on getting a much better car at a much better price.    I've never written a Yelp review before, but felt compelled to do for the MotorTech team given the phenomenal customer service they provided me.

R. A.  Goshen, CT  2/2/18

5.0 Star Rating

I had an excellent experience with MotorTech.  I was considering purchasing a 1965 Chevrolet.   The staff was consistently quick to respond to my communications, right from the beginning.  What I really appreciated was their very quick response to line up the inspection on very short notice.   And they made it happen, despite some logistical challenges.  Most important is the fact that the information from their inspection gave me all the information I needed to make a decision on the purchase of the car.

Jimmy A.  New Zealand   1/22/18

5.0 Star Rating

Being located in New Zealand the team at Motor Tech made it extremely easy to get a pre purchase inspection done in the USA.  Costs was really competitive, emails were answered promptly and best of all they had a guy in a smaller state capital that other companies couldn't get to.  Photos and reports were detailed and comprehensive on the state of the pickup I was interested in and arrived promptly.  Highly recommend Motor Tech to any overseas buyers to help quick and knowledgeable help in assessing any vehicle you're looking at.

Thomas S.  Alameda, CA  1/9/18

5.0 Star Rating

I don't leave a lot of reviews, but in this instance it seems like the proper thing to do.

I had a Mini Cooper S with the John Cooper Works package, and I was hit from behind with the car clearly being totaled. My insurance company's automated valuation system did not capture the true value of the car, and when I provided them copious documentation and history of the car, they invoked the independent appraisal clause in the insurance contract.

Enter MotorTech.

The insurance company contracted with them, and they were fast, professional, on time, and very pleasant to deal with. After an hour with them going over the car on a Monday, the report was back to the insurance company on Tuesday, and their offer increased by 35% (which was within about $300 of what I had indicated the valuation should have been).

So my thanks to MotorTech! They made a difference and are clearly experts at what they do. Hire them - they do great work and are total pros!

D.R., San Jose, CA  11/10/17

5.0 Star Rating

Called MotorTech in October of this year. We have a 1950 Plymouth Suburban Wagon we need to get appraised, Spoke with one of their representatives over the phone for some basic information. He was very helpful and quoted me on a couple of different options to have the car appraised. We had a good idea what we thought the car was worth but decided to have MotorTech come out to the house and do an on site appraisal to confirm our thoughts. Process was simple paid over the phone and set up a date and time to meet, They called to confirm prior to coming and showed up on time as arranged. MotorTech went over the entire car making notes, taking pictures and asking questions to help them with there appraisal. I thought the whole process was professionally done.  There on line research was on point and the report was emailed to me within a couple of days, the report was well put together and gave good comparisons to other 1950 Wagons that were for sale or had sold. The appraisal came back and the car was valued as we expected. We plan on using it when we are ready to sell.  Start to Finish glad we found MotorTech and appreciate all of there good work.

 

Craig T.  Cortlandt Manor, NY  11/1/17

5.0 Star Rating

 

Thank you for a great job on the 1968 Cougar, you saved me from a big mistake.  I well leave you a positive feedback and would not hesitate using you again.

Gil B.  Burlingame, CA 10/24/17

5.0 Star Rating

Due to health reasons I was having to sell my 1954 Jaguar roadster. Before a price was established, I was offered several, what I thought, low-ball prices.  I did not know how to establish a fair asking price.  Motor Tech Classic Vehicle Appraisal Network was recommended to me.  They answered the phone in most professional manner and listened to my predicament story.  We set up an appointment to have the roadster appraised.  Their inspector was on time and asked, what I thought, the proper questions.  He spent an hour plus going over the roadster.  He again reviewed his services of establishing a selling price and their marketing service.

I have owned and driven the roadster for 48 years – it was loved and cared for as a family member. I told him about my values and that I wanted the vehicle to go to a loving family and stay on the west coast.

Finding equivalent prices was difficult, but the Motor Tech staff stayed on the task and frequently called me with updates.  They established a price range and we set a selling price.  Again, I have no knowledge about how the marketing procedure goes.  Motor Tech handled the whole operation.  They frequently called me with the various contacts he had received.  Several were turned down.  Over all he screened out three prospects.  I contacted them and selected one.  The selection turned out be the family I was looking for.

Thanks to Motor Tech’s services I was not bothered with “lookie-loos” and only talked with the screened prospects.

Thanks to Motor Tech’s personal services and marketing technics, my roadster went to the loving family I was looking for and at a fair price for both of us.

Yes, I highly recommend Motor Tech Classic Vehicle Appraisal Network.

Brian J.  Chesnee, SC  8/16/17

5.0 Star Rating

I had a 1999 pontiac trans am stolen. Insurance offered me like $6,500.  I got a appraisal from motor tech. The insurance  paid me $18,200 for my trans am.  Well worth the money and great people to work with.

 

Howard M.  Watsonville, CA  8/1/17

5.0 Star Rating

Motor tech gave me a very detailed report on my 1967 Dodge Charger and everything they inspected was correct.  It was done in a timely manner.  I would recommend their service to anyone who plans to purchase a vehicle.

 

Lisa M.  Burlingame, CA  7/10/17

5.0 Star Rating

MotorTech is a company providing superior customer support and expertise in classic automobiles. I was searching for a classic Mustang and used MotorTech to provide an appraisal to help me evaluate an appropriate price for an automobile I was considering.  A highly knowledgeable MotorTech staff member, answered the phone (all the time- no annoying messaging) and spent quite a lot of time with me discussing the overall big picture of what I was looking for, giving me invaluable advice regarding pertinent issues including market forces, restoration costs, value drivers, and critical features to evaluate when I was testing the car.  In spite of the holiday week, the MotorTech staff expedited my appraisal so that I would not lose purchase of the car to competing parties.  Because of their excellent service I am now a happy owner of a 66 Mustang.  MotorTech went on to provide advice on shipping afterwards.  MotorTech runs a company focused on the needs of a classic car buyer.  They spend "on the phone" time with general advice and a focus on customer needs that is rarely seen in companies in these modern times.

 

Sean H.  San Diego, CA  5/15/17

5.0 Star Rating

I had a modified 1970 Chevelle inspected and appraised by the MotorTech crew last week. I had the vehicle listed for sale and I wish I would have used their services prior to listing the asking price, but I'm overall happy with the listing price and the service I received.  MotorTech's inspector went above what I had expected while going over the vehicle. He was here for several hours and even researched the companies I had completed repairs on the vehicle prior to coming to my residence.  The reports were completed in a timely manner, considering this vehicle has several modifications not common of most classic vehicles out there.  The appraisal was fair and extremely detailed. I will definitely use them again and recommend their services for anyone looking to have a classic car inspected and/or appraised.

Klayton S.  Texarkana, TX  4/18/17

5.0 Star Rating

Motor Tech is a great appraisal company. They were prompt and professional.  It was a joy to work with them.  They have extensive knowledge on classic vehicles and a keen eye for detail. This company far exceeded my expectations. I will definitely work with them again.  Thanks

 

Dave W.  Clarence Center, NY  3/26/17

5.0 Star Rating

I highly recommend their service.  I was in the market for a classic truck and initially called  for general information about the "classic" car and truck market.  Ted was very generous with his time, we spoke the first time for over an hour about the market, general things about what to look for, and what to watch out for.  We spoke again later about more specific trucks, and the pro's and con's of "barn" finds, trucks in need of major repair, active drivers, mint show trucks, and the pro's and con's of "original" vs. "modified".  All with no pressure, just friendly chat that helped me narrow down in my mind what I really wanted and needed in a truck.  (I "need" it to tow my classic Airstream).  Soon after I saw an internet ad for a truck that fit 95% of my wants and needs.  MotorTech's Inspector was on the job pronto, and when I flew to Maine to see the truck that weekend, it was exactly as described.  The service was well worth the money as I did not have to make multiple trips all around the country to find what I wanted.  One thing i would recommend to all, is to take the time and spend the money to see the vehicle yourself, because only you will know if it is truly right and "the one" for you.  Thanks Ted for your help, LOVE my new/old truck!

Zack P.   Riverbank, CA  3/21/17

5.0 Star Rating

1965 Chevelle. I had Motortech appraise my dream car,  they did an excellent job the bank was very pleased with their work . The bank stated it was the most thorough appraisal they have had. I was able to purchase my chevelle with no issues! Motor tech was very informative and represented my interest in the car as well as doing an accurate market value appraisal, I would recommend them to anyone in the market for a classic car.

Kevin D.  Benecia, CA  3/20/17

5.0 Star Rating

I was looking at a 68 Chevelle to buy on the East Coast and found Motortech on the Classic Autotrader website. I had them inspect the first one I was looking at, and the first inspector didn't get good pictures so MotorTech sent out the Regional Manager for to inspect the car. Which saved me from buying a rust bucket that the owner was trying to mask. I then found my 68 convertible, and had MotorTech do an appraisal and inspection for me. The inspector was so thourough, he took a magnet to the whole car and knew to concentrate on the vulnerable areas of old cars, i.e. The quarter panels. I bought the car.  Great deal on the and did not waste a dime with MotorTech, worth EVERY penny. They even gave me a full appraisal. I don't leave comments on Yelp much, ONLY when I believe the company is worth it. I spent over $23,000 on the car, and at no point was I worried after the inspection report. I recommend ANYONE buying a car off a website, insure themselves by using MotorTech. Thanks Ted for all the help. This was a huge purchase and it was relieving from stressing out over paying for it.

Michael C.  East Freetown, MA  3/15/17

5.0 Star Rating

 

I have to say the team at MotorTech was great!!!  Very knowledgeable and did an exceptional job.  They were able to get out to look at my car with no issues.  Got the report back, and I was able to make a decision from there.  Lots of pictures and notes included.  When I received the car it was everything the seller said with their confirmation.   Nice work MotorTech and everyone that helped make this a success!!!  

 

Franci L.  Martinez, CA  3/14/17

5.0 Star Rating

What a pleasure working with MotorTech!  They were professional , on time and knew their business.  My son's car was totaled and it was a beauty!  It was a 2002 Camaro show car.  AAA did not offer us a good pay out quote so we requested it to be professionally appraised.  Thank goodness for MotorTech who really know specialty cars.  This car had lots of bells and whistles!  They recommended to AAA a much better price than they first offered us.  Thank You MotorTech for being so knowledgeable about cars and there value.  We got a nice settlement, certainly what it was worth!

 

John G.  Mount Hope, KS  2/28/17

5.0 Star Rating

MotorTech Classic vehicle Appraisal Network provided awesome service.  The quickly dispatched inspectors to a car I bought on ebay to verify it's authenticity and condition.  I was very happy with the report provided and their customer service.

Chat E.  Peoria, AZ  2/9/17

5.0 Star Rating

I purchased a car out of state and wanted an inspection done before the purchase was completed.  I needed it done quickly as the seller had a few buyers lined up.  In as little as two days I had the inspection completed.  Got the vehicle and very happy with the service.  Thank you again.

David G.  Long Beach, CA  1/31/17

5.0 Star Rating

MotorTech (and Inspector Austin) did an excellent job performing pre-purchase inspection of a 1970 Jeepster.  I needed inspection performed in an expedited manner; Ted and Austin accommodated my needs (2-day turnaround). Austin's inspection summary and pictures were thorough and helpful to me in making my purchase decision.  In all, a very positive experience for me; If needed I would not hesitate to use the MotorTech vehicle appraisal service again.Thanks again Ted and Austin.

 

Pierce F.  San Francisco, CA  12/16/16

5.0 Star Rating

An inspector from MotorTech came my house in San Francisco to conduct an appraisal of my 1988 BMW M6.  He was thorough and took his time with all aspects of the appraisal.  There was no part of the car that was not scrupulously inspected and photographed.  This appraisal was critical to establishing a stated value insurance policy for my car.  I highly recommend MotorTech to all car enthusiasts!

 

Al A.  Vacaville, CA  11/28/2016 

5.0 Star Rating

I requested inspection on a car, I got the service I requested and more. The inspection was complete and very much to my satisfaction.  FOLLOW-UP: BOUGHT THE OLDS.  THANK YOU FOR YOUR GREAT ASSISTANCE. I WILL RECOMMEND YOU TO MY FRIENDS IF THEY EVER NEED A CAR INSPECTED.  REGARDS AND HAPPY HOLIDAYS, AL

Ari I.  Park City, UT  11/4/2016 

5.0 Star Rating

I was in need of a quick pre sale inspection of a 56 T-Bird that I purchased off of bring a trailer.  I just wanted someone to quickly look it over and verify it was as presented before completing the purchase. They quickly assigned one of their inspectors in NY that did a great job for far less than it would have cost me to travel to NY and do it myself. I got a good report with photos and was able to make a decision to go through with the purchase.

Carl L.  San Ramon, CA  10/31/2016  

5.0 star rating

I found a 1970 Ford F100 Truck on Craigslist that looked good.  I test drove it but wanted an expert opinion on the condition of the truck before buying it.  I call MotorTech and Ted was great. He explained the process, what would be inspected, the cost and the timing.  He coordinated the inspection with the owner and called me right after he inspected the truck and gave me a great and very detailed verbal report over the phone.  The written report I received a day later was detailed and very thorough. I've used the report to arrange for a few repairs needed right away and will use the report to update and improve the truck.  I am 100% happy with the service and professionalism of MotorTech and have already passed along their name to a friend interested in using their services.

Georgann N.  Carlsbad, CA  10/18/2016

5.0 star rating

I used MotorTech for a vehicle appraisal for a classic car.  They were prompt, efficient, and very helpful.

Will L.  San Jose, CA  10/5/2016

5.0 star rating

I used MotorTech for a vehicle appraisal on a classic car in order to get my insurance agreed value corrected to current market value.  Ted was terrific.  He was extremely thorough on the inspection and had a good summary of similar cars for the market assessment prepared in advance of our appointment.  MotorTech was very professional and timely.

Juan P.  Moraga,  CA  9/13/2016 

5.0 star rating

My experience with Motortech was great.   Their Inspector was on time and very nice polite man.  His knowledge of cars and what paint should look like and how panels should fit as well as mechanical is very good.  I had 2 cars appraised and I was very satisfied with both.   They were fair , honest and very professional.   I had both my appraisals done within 7 days.  I will definitely use them again in the future

 

Van B.  Oakland, CA  8/30/2016 

5.0 star rating

I contacted MotorTech to evaluate  fire damage on my 1986 Porsche. They came to my home examined the car, very knowledgeable, friendly and knew exactly what they were looking at.  I thought their opinion  and write up was spot on. Highly recommend their service.

Mary B.  East Brunswick, NJ  3/17/2016

5.0 star rating

It was a pleasure to work with them,  very detailed and fast.  I have used them in the past and I will keep using them.  As a classic car broker it is imperative to have the most and comprehensive report about the car that my clients are purchasing.  Ted from MotorTech has an open communication and very details and I have three words to describe this company Honesty,  Integrity and Respect.

Lyn M.  Pacifica, CA  12/12/2015

5.0 star rating

 

Not in the car business but found myself with the responsibility of appraising a classic 1954 Buick Skylark.  I searched the internet and decided to go with MotorTech and I don't regret it.  We scheduled the appointment, they spent 2 hours or more inspecting the car and provided a professional appraisal.  They were kind, courteous and experts.  What I appreciated even more was their willingness to answer any questions I had even after the appraisal until I eventually sold the car.  Thank you MotorTech!

Douglas M.  Bozeman, MT  11/12/2015

5.0 star rating

Last year I had a dispute regarding the value of my 2002 Saab 9-3 Viggen.  I found MotorTech Specialty Vehicle Appraisals online and asked them what the value of my car should be.  I the insurance company claimed the value was far less that what I believed it to be. MotorTech aske me a ton of questions as to what I paid for the car, how much I put into it, etc., and because the Viggen model was a limited edition, they only imported about 500 into the US in that year, MotorTech researched and found additional data and supporting documents so they could fully evalute it.  After all their work and more phone calls, MotorTech came back with a value much closer to my estimated value and their documentation, evdience was enough for the insurance company to accept that value without question.  If you have a unique, classic or modified vehicle and need an expert on your side, call MotorTech.  They are terrific and they know their stuff.

Marlene A.  Fairfield, CA  11/2/2015

5.0 star rating

I have a unique 1956 Cadillac that I need a value appraisal on, as I am contemplating selling. Two different car club members recommended MotorTech Classic Car Appraisals.  No wonder!  They showed up on time, not to mention, the two men were wildly knowledgable.  They spent as much time with me as I needed until I had full understanding of the appraisal process. Within a few days, I had a very detailed report in my hands.  MotorTech's team had backup documents and alot of detailed  pictures .  Because MotorTech was so thorough, I am able to ask more for my Cadillac, then others suggested.   MotorTech is absolutely the best. I called other appraisers, and didn't get a return call until a week had past.